Banner
Share
For Health Professionals

Information for Referring Physicians

As a physician who wants only the best treatment possible for your patients, you can trust that they will receive compassionate multidisciplinary care at the Children’s Hospital at Montefiore (CHAM).

We are available around the clock to assist with patient referrals to the hospital, a specific service or an individual CHAM specialist for consultation, diagnosis or treatment.

To arrange for immediate, emergency transport to the CHAM transfer center, please call 1-855-CHAM-247.

Comprehensive List of All CHAM Referral Contacts 

 

OFFICE OF THE CHAIR

Judy L. Aschner, MD
Physician-in-Chief, Professor and Michael I. Cohen, MD, University Chair, Pediatrics
jaschner@montefiore.org
718-741-2499

ADOLESCENT AIDS PROGRAM

Donna C. Futterman, MD
Director, Adolescent AIDS Program
dfutterman@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-882-0023

ADOLESCENT MEDICINE

Susan M. Coupey, MD 
Chief, Division of Adolescent Medicine
scoupey@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2450
MD/Overbook appointments: 718-920-2180

 

ALLERGY AND IMMUNOLOGY

Arye Rubinstein, MD
Chief, Division of Allergy and Immunology
arubenstein@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-405-8530; please dial 2200

 

ANESTHESIOLOGY

Madelyn D. Kahana, MD
Interim Division Director, Pediatric Anesthesiology,Children’s Hospital at Montefiore;
Chief, Division of Pediatric Cardiac Anesthesia, Montefiore Medical Center
mkahana@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-4316
Overbook Appointments: 718-920-2180

CARDIOLOGY

Daphne T. Hsu, MD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Cardiology; Co-Director, Pediatric Heart Center
dhsu@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2370 
Provider Consults: 718-741-2343

 

CARDIOTHORACIC SURGERY

Giles Peek, MD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Cardiothoracic;  Surgery Co-Director, Pediatric Heart Center
gpeek@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-7745
Provider Consults: 917-218-8821 

CRANIOFACIAL/PLASTIC SURGERY

Oren M. Tepper, MD
Attending Surgeon, Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
otepper@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 347-920-1469

 

CRITICAL CARE

George Ofori-Amanfo, MBChB, FACC
Chief, Division of Critical Care
Provider Consults: 718-741-2000

 

DERMATOLOGY

Diana H. Lee, MD, PhD
Director, Division of Dermatology
dilee@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 866-633-8255

DEVELOPMENTAL MEDICINE

Theodore A. Kastner, MD
Chief, Developmental Medicine
Urgent Appointments: 718-430-8500
Provider Consults: 718-430-8866

EMERGENCY MEDICINE

Jeffrey R. Avner, MD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine
javner@montefiore.org
Provider Consults: 718-741-2150

 

ENDOCRINOLOGY AND DIABETES

Rubina A. Heptulla, MD
Chief, Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes
rheptull@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-4664
Provider Consults: 718-741-2450

 

GASTROENTEROLOGY AND NUTRITION

John F. Thompson, MD
Chief, Division of Gastroenterology and Nutrition
jthomps@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2332
Provider Consults: 718-741-2332

 

GENERAL PEDIATRICS

Peter F. Belamarich, MD
Chief, Division of General Pediatrics
pbelamar@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2432
Provider Consults: 718-741-2167; 917-290-0016

 

GENETICS

Robert W. Marion, MD
Chief, Division of Genetics
robert.marion@einstein.yu.edu
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2323

 

HEMATOLOGY/ONCOLOGY

Richard G. Gorlick, MD
Vice Chairman, Pediatrics; Chief, Division of Hematology and Oncology
rgorlick@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2342

 

HOSPITAL MEDICINE

Nora V. Esteban-Cruciani, MD, MS (Director, Hospital Medicine) 
E-mail:nesteban@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2549 

INFECTIOUS DISEASE

Betsy Herold, MD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Disease 
bherold@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2470

 

J.E AND Z.B. BUTLER CHILD ADVOCACY CENTER

Linda T. Cahill, MD 
lcahill@montefiore.org
Appointments: 718-920-5833

LEAD POISONING TREATMENT AND PREVENTION PROGRAM

Morri E. Markowitz, MD 
Director, LPTPP
LeadProgram@montefiore.org
Appointments: 718-547-2789

NEONATOLOGY

Deborah E. Campbell, MD
Chief, Division of Neonatology
dcampbel@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments (high-risk infant): 718-904-4105 
Provider Consults: 718-904-4105; 718-904-4032; 718-920-9531

 

NEPHROLOGY

Frederick J. Kaskel, MD
Chief, Division of Nephrology
fkaskel@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-655-1120

 

NEUROLOGY

Solomon L. Moshe, MD
Director, Pediatric Neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology
E-mail: smoshe@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2450

NEUROSURGERY

Rick Abbott, MD
Director, Surgical Neuro-Oncology
rabbot@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-8512
Provider Consults: 718-920-6668; 914-426-9600 (Dr. Abbott’s cell)

 

NEUROSURGERY

James T. Goodrich, MD
Director, Division of Neurosurgery
jgoodric@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-405-8337 

 

OPHTHALMOLOGY

Norman B. Medow, MD
Director, Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus
nmedow@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-2020

ORTHOPAEDICS

Norman Y. Otsuka, MD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Orthopaedics
notsuka@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 800-555-4564

OTOLARYNGOLOGY–HEAD & NECK SURGERY

John P. Bent, MD
Director, Pediatric Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery
jbent@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-4646

 

PSYCHIATRY

Carol A. Hnetila, MD
Chief, Pediatric & Adolescent Psychiatry
chnetila@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-4653 
Provider Consults: 718-920-4653

 

RESPIRATORY AND SLEEP MEDICINE

Raanan Arens, MD
Chief, Division of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine
rarens@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2450
Provider Consults: 718-515-2330

RHEUMATOLOGY

Norman T. Ilowite, MD
Chief, Division of Rheumatology
nilowite@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-741-2450 
Provider Consults: 718-741-2456

 

SURGERY

Dominique M. Jan, MD
Chief, Division of Pediatric Surgery; Director, Pediatric Abdominal Transplant Program 
djan@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-7200

 

UROLOGY

Anthony J. Casale, MD
Chief, Division of Urology
acasale@montefiore.org
Urgent Appointments: 718-920-7608